December 2015 Highlights!

image

It’s December and heading towards the end of of 2015!

I love advent and the build up to Christmas and always have various traditions and ‘things’ I like to do when preparing my home etc…

I always have to have an advent candle if not MORR than one. The candlestick in which the advent candle burns has been in my family for ages. It belonged to my Grandma and only comes out for the annual advent candle.

image

I am also a great fan of nativity sets of several shapes and forms. Mine range from wooden, recycled paper to knitted ones, hence coining the phrase the Knit-tivity!

I also have a GORRgeous bisque porcelain set with tea lights which takes pride of place on the inset window.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

At Christmastime I always enjoy watching the Nutcracker ballet as well as performing in Handel’s Messiah.

This year I sourced some beautiful Nutcrackers of my own with which to decorate my home.

image

image

image

image

image

Having only a small home means large Christmas trees take up too much space. I have some very easy plug in a light up trees dotted around and simply love the cleanness of them. I have another tree which I have to admit now stays up all year. I add extra decorations to it for seasonal occasions but all year round it is simply covered in angels.

image

image

image

image

A few years ago at Pedagoo Wonderland, the lovely @Jim1982 brought reindeer with him. They were in short supply and great demand. I felt very privileged to be given one and every year he comes out for Christmas.

Thanks, Jim.

image

Following on from the mince pie baking marathon, my love of angels ended up as gingerbread cookies for family and friends.

image

image

Family and friends are always impORRtant to me and it’s quite usual to have drinks and nibbles around my dining table or in the garden depending on the time of year.

image

image

image

As well as making angels I had a go at making homemade mulled wine rather than the shop bought stuff. The smell of cinnamon permeating through your home is simply divine. Of course, even nicer when you can serve it from a glass teapot that keeps it warm.

image

I have never been one for a chocolate advent calendar and equally find myself very irritated by advent calendars that have absolutely nothing to do with a nativity scene at all. This year I came across the alternative advent calendar and decided to go with it. For every day of advent I placed an item of non-perishable food in a box ready to take to my local food bank. My Mum and Dad chipped in and by the time it was the last collection point we had well over 24 items. Upon taking it to the local food bank, the gentleman told me the items would help at least 15 people. This is something I feel the need to continue monthly in the new year and not simply at Christmastime.

image

image

Christmastime at school is always a magical time. Our concerts, parties and carol services were well received and captured the true meaning of Christmas. Of course, a pair of festive heels were in ORRder too.

image

image

As the term drew to an end, family time could begin. My parents have been having an annual Christmas drinks MORRning for 49 years. MORR festive heels and frock were required followed by some nibbles at mine for my parents having washed up 40+ wine glasses!

image

image

My Dad’s Mum was born in 1885 and lived a long life until she was 90. In my garden I have a Christmas Rose which is from her ORRiginal plant. It’s wonderful at this time of year to watch it grown and flower.

image

image

image

image

Almost FORRgot – a trip to the hairdresser was I ORRder if only to visit the lovely gin shop beside it. Two new additions to the collection.

image

image

One or two Christmas food and drink items started to present a theme running through them…..

image

image

image

image

image

By now it’s Monday of the first week of the Christmas holidays and time to think about getting my dining room ready for my parents coming for lunch on Christmas Day. I like to be well prepared and ORRganised ahead of time. Really glad I had this year. This is what Christmas looked like but sadly I missed it through being poorly. Boxing Day was spent in urgent care and bank holiday being seen again by my own GP. Although all family and friend plans have been cancelled, the nice part has been simply time with myself and Mum and Dad. The fact they live above me made it very easy for them to pop down for a cuppa or to bring me upstairs for some TLC even in my dressing gown. My Mum rose to the occasion and has washed nightwear daily. I had realised how many I’d go through. We have plans to have Christmas Day together in the new year. I still have the crackers!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

All the Christmas food items with a theme or a gift are still in the fridge or stored away.

When I finally had the strength to look at Christmas gifts from family, friends and children at school, I was overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness.

image

image

image

image

As New Year’s Eve approaches, it will be a very quiet day. The cocktail of meds is still rattling to the tune of 12 a day – not quite the 12 days of Christmas. A dressing gown day once again and clock watching until the next dose needs to be taken. I don’t do being ill very well and now that’s it’s day 10, it’s about time it stayed in 2015 and let me move on into 2016.

Thankfully, for me, the best part of Christmas has been great – the waiting and anticipation. It won’t be one I’ll fORRget in a hurry.

Happy New Year and here’s to an ORRsome 2016.

Leave a Reply

